Waterpolo 2020-10-29T15:40:35+02:00

Tradition | Excellence | Opportunity
Founded in 1856.

The Grey Vision
Grey remains as one of the leading schools in the country, with a culture and value system that support its fine heritage. Grey is recognised for its competitiveness and excellence in academic, sporting and cultural activities, as well as for its ability to consistently produce leaders.
Read More…


Master in Charge

Mr Zaine Marx

Administration Assistant

Mr Richard Rautenbach


Mr Tyler Botha


Waterpolo was restarted at Grey in 1994, with the first matches being played in 1995 against local schools. It wasn’t until the late 1990s where Grey started to compete at a National level. Our numbers have grown from just one team in 1995 to thirteen teams in 2007 (including Grey Junior School). In 2006, both our u14 and u15 sides were crowned SA Champions as well our 1st team competing in numerous SA finals across the country. Our 1st team won the prestigious SACS
Tournament in 2012 and the KES Tournament, for the first time, now in 2014. The u14 team has played in the finals of top tournaments for the last six years winning several of them. Grey has produced numerous SA Schools’ players in recent years. The last two players selected for the u18 SA Schools side were Nick Beswick (2013) and Jason Evezard (2013, 2014).


7 x U19 teams
4 x U15 teams
3 x U14 teams


1 x Olympic size waterpolo pool
1 x heated 25m waterpolo pool
1 x heated 25m indoor swimming pool

Matches & Tournaments

Matches are played against the top waterpolo playing schools in Eastern Cape on most Saturdays. The u14A and B, u15A and B, 1st and 2nd teams travel extensively across the country to play in big tournaments. Top schools attend these tournaments and Grey get to play against the best. Some of the tournaments include SACS, Grey College, Vides, Clifton and KES, Ian Melliar u15 Tournament, Rondebosch u14 Tournament and Jason Murray Tournament. In addition, select players are entered into the Eastern Province Mens’ Waterpolo League. The senior team plays in the Premier division and the 2nd team in the 2nd division.

LEAGUE: The season is split into various leagues in an attempt to accommodate all our players.

EP LEAGUE – The 1st and 2nd team players are split amongst clubs and compete in the Premier League hosted on a Thursday night at Alexander Road High school. Mr Luke Crawford and Mr Zaine Marx will oversee the boys’ involvement from a school perspective.

JUNIOR LEAGUE – The Junior School league is hosted by Alexander Road on a Tuesday night, where our u14C, D and u15C and D teams compete on a weekly basis. Mr Hannes Roelofse, Mrs Suzie du Plessis and Ms Sam Kelly will oversee the Grey High School commitment at Alexander Road.

GREY LEAGUE – The Grey High School league will take place on a Thursday afternoon (15:00 – 17:30), and consist of the following Grey teams: 3rds, 4ths, 5ths, 6ths, 7ths, u15A & B, u14A & B. Other local schools participating will be Pearson High, Alexander Road, Woodridge, and few Grahamstown schools have also shown an interest. Our Powerade Aquatic Centre will play host to these fixtures, and Mr Richard Rautenbach, Mr Tyler Botha and Mr Rogan Scheepers will oversee this commitment.

A Few In-house Matters and Termly Reminders

Dress Code

Waterpolo boys are to arrive and depart the pool areas dressed correctly. Full school tracksuit and suitable footwear should be worn to and from practices and matches. Coaches are going to be asked to be strict in this regard as the correct dress sends the correct message. The waterpolo attire, available at the School Shop,
includes the blue and white golf shirts along with the navy and azure blue shorts. Please ensure your son has these items for the water polo season.


It is deemed disrespectful toward the coach and team mates if you do not arrive / arrive late for practices and / or matches. Excuses for non-attendance must be communicated timeously with the coach involved.


Grey boys are reminded that they are an advert for the school and as such should always display the necessary sportsmanship. Yes, we play to win but not at all costs. Disputing referee decisions and /or showing dissent is unacceptable and will not be tolerated.

Practice Days and Times: Powerade Pool

Time Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
06:00 – 07:00 GHS GHS GHS GHS
14:15 – 15:15 Grey Junior Grey Junior Grey Junior Grey Junior
15:15 – 16:15 u14A & u14B 2nds u14C & u15D GHS League
1sts & 2nd 6ths & 7ths u15C&4ths GHS League
16:15 – 17:15 1sts & 3rd 1sts & 5ths 2nds
u15A & u14B 1st, u14A
17:15 – 18:15 1sts

Practice Days and Times: Small Pool

Time Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
06:00 – 07:00 GHS GHS GHS GHS
14:15 – 15:15 Grey Junior Grey Junior Grey Junior Grey Junior
15:15 – 16:15 u14C & u15D u14A & u14B u15B & 5ths GHS League
16:15 – 17:15 u15C 3rds & 4ths 6ths & 7ths GHS League
17:15 – 18:15

Coaching Staff – 2019

The coaching staff comprises of staff members and student coaches.

1st Mr Luke Crawford u/15A Mr Seko Zondani
2nd Mr Rogan Scheepers u/15B Mr Leejay van Niekerk
3rd Mr Leejay van Niekerk u/15C Mr Hannes Roelofse
4th Mr Rogan Scheepers u/14A Ms Erin Mukheibir
5th Mr Anton Scholtz u/14B Mr Richard Rautenbach
6th Tyler Botha u/14C Ms Sam Kelly
7th Tyler Botha u/14D Mrs Suzie du Plessis

Daniel Brussow BOYS U14A
Caleb Kotze BOYS U14A
Christian Davidson BOYS U14A
Reece Parker BOYS U14A
Ivan Ingram BOYS U14A
Byron Forword BOYS U14A
Joshua Rustenberg BOYS U14B
Joshua Wittuhn BOYS U14B
Ryan Morgan BOYS U14B
Nicholas Brooks BOYS U15A
Lyle O’connell BOYS U15A
Christopher Steinbach BOYS U15A
Luke Stratford BOYS U15A
Gerrick Assam BOYS U15A
Wian Pieterse BOYS U15A
Ethan Ayerst BOYS U15A
Daniel Butler BOYS U15A
Thomas Smith BOYS U15B
Joshua Neubert BOYS U15B
Cameron Casali BOYS U16A
Reece Hancocks BOYS U16A
Tiaan Ingram BOYS U16A
Kellan Jones BOYS U16A
Christian john Rosser BOYS U16A
Damon Royle BOYS U16A
Matthew De lange BOYS U16B
Thomas King BOYS U16B
Luke Marriner BOYS U16B
Aidan Baker BOYS U19A
Matthew Easton BOYS U19A
Stuart Grenfell BOYS U19A
Ricky King BOYS U19A
Chris Smailes BOYS U19A
Reece Audie BOYS U19A
Luke Butler BOYS U19A
Thamsa Donald BOYS U19B

Waterpolo is proudly sponsored by: